• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

Swimming NSW

Online training for technical officials

  • Log In
  • My courses
  • Home
  • About
    • About
    • Technical Officiating overview
    • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Courses
  • Answers
  • Assessment
  • Contact

another Starting question

Posted on 09.28.21

« Back to Previous Page
▲
0
▼
♥ 0

I was reading through the previous questions here regarding Starting, and wondered if you could answer mine too?
Should a swimmer be disqualified for “starting before the starting signal” when they topple forward into the water as they commence to take their mark-starting position?

Marked as spam
Posted by Josh Karp (Questions: 6, Answers: 4)
Asked on September 28, 2021 9:23 am
47 views
  • Follow
  • Unfollow
▲
0
▼
✔
Private answer

Hi there,

No. The swimmer would not be disqualified for “starting before the starting signal” The swimmer is attempting to comply with the starter’s instruction and has involuntarily overbalanced. There is no intent to initiate a start.

FINA Ruling in relation to SW 4.4 (SNSW 4.3) “After all swimmers are stationary (SW4.1), any swimmer initiating a start before the signal may be disqualified when such movement is observed and confirmed by both the starter and the referee SW 2.1.6.” (SNSW 2.1.11).

Marked as spam
Posted by Sam (Questions: 0, Answers: 13)
Answered on September 28, 2021 10:17 am
« Back to Previous Page

Existing students should please log in to post questions.

sidebar

Website by Swim.Rocks • Photography by Nina Beilby

Swimming NSW copyright