• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

Swimming NSW

Online training for technical officials

  • Log In
  • My courses
  • Home
  • About
    • About
    • Technical Officiating overview
    • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Courses
  • Answers
  • Assessment
  • Contact

Swimmer entering the water before the start signal

Posted on 02.26.19

« Back to Previous Page
▲
0
▼
♥ 0

At a recent meet, the rear foot of a swimmer (in the lane I was timekeeping) slipped sideways off the starting platform and the swimmer fell into the water while under Starters orders. They left the pool and did not try to enter the re-started race. Should this have been a disqualification, as it was certainly not a deliberate act.

Marked as spam
Posted by Iain Cox (Questions: 1, Answers: 0)
Asked on February 26, 2019 1:59 pm
129 views
  • Follow
  • Unfollow
▲
0
▼
✔
Private answer

Hi Iain!
Thanks for your question!!

From what I have read, it seems obvious that the Referee has given their long whistle, after which the swimmers have mounted their starting platforms. What is not clear is what is meant by “under Starter’s orders”

I can see three possible scenarios.

1. The Referee has blown the long whistle and the swimmers mount the starting platform. At some point in this process this swimmer has slipped and fallen into the water.
2. The Referee has blown the long whistle and the swimmers have mounted the starting platform. The Referee has decided that the swimmers are ready and handed control over to the Starter with an outstretched arm. The swimmer could have fallen in at this point.
3. The Referee has blown the long whistle and the swimmers have mounted the starting platform. The Referee has decided that the swimmers are ready and handed control over to the Starter with an outstretched arm. The Starter has given the command “Take Your Marks” and the swimmer has fallen into the water.
In the first two scenarios the Starter has not initiated a start, so the swimmer would not be disqualified.

However, in the third scenario, the start has been initiated (the command has been given) and rule SW4.3 states that “any swimmer starting before the starting signal has been given, shall be disqualified”. This rule does not distinguish between a swimmer starting deliberately, or accidentally. Swimming Australia affirm that any movement after the command will result in a disqualification.

I hope this helps!

Marked as spam
Posted by Sam (Questions: 0, Answers: 20)
Answered on February 27, 2019 10:42 am
« Back to Previous Page

Existing students should please log in to post questions.

sidebar

Website by Swim.Rocks • Photography by Nina Beilby

Swimming NSW copyright